Home > Training Log > Jack Daniels Training seems to be working!

Jack Daniels Training seems to be working!

I bought this book 5 years ago,  Danels’ Running Formula, by Jack Daniels  http://www.amazon.com/Daniels-Running-Formula-Jack/dp/0880117354 .  NO! Not the whiskey, he is a famous running coach.  I use the book to formulate workout for specific races.  I ran my first marathon last year and referenced the book, but didn’t follow any of the training plans.  Oops.  This year my training partner Nate and I have been following Marathon A plan quite closely and results are great.

I can only say results are great by the way I feel when running the specified workouts.  The pace is getting easier and I can feel myself getting stronger.  A small test of fitness will occur this weekend in Central Park.  Our team, Brooklyn Road Runners has a 4 mile team race and it will be my first race in about 5 weeks.

We have been doing tempo runs right around 6 minute pace comfortably, so I am planning on being under 6 minutes/mile avearage, shooting for mid 23s

Our workout today was 8×5 min tempo with 30 seconds recovery.  Not as bad as I thought it would be going in.  The rest was harder mentally than the actual running.  I felt better just to get running again.  Held back on purpose due to race coming up,  tried to hold it at 6:30 pace, but usually ended up quicker, 6:10-6:20.

Still have sore quads and hams from our 18 miler on Sunday night, 2x10min tempo, 10 miles easy, 20 min tempo. Tough.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

