Home > Uncategorized > Bib Numbers and Wave Start info is up on Ing NYC Website!

Bib Numbers and Wave Start info is up on Ing NYC Website!

http://www.nycmarathon.org/

and go to Entrant Info

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Jose E Sanchez
    October 7, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Hi Chad,

    I am training for the 2009 NYC Marathon. Since July I started experiencing pain in my right shin – in the inside, just few inches above the ankle. It is painful when I start running, but after a half a mile or so it starts going away. Is this what you felt with your stress fractures or did did it hurt all throughout your runs?
    I’ve read that usually the stress fracture hurst during the entire race and that regular shin aplints will only hurt at the beginning, is this correct?

    I am following the Hal Higdon intermediate marathon program, 2 weekends ago I did a 20 miler, I felt just as I described, pain at the beginning of the 20 miler and then no pain for the next 19 miles. Same with a prior 18 miler.

    Sometimes I think about reducing the mileage for the next 3 weeks, I have the last 20 miler this Sunday, which I plan to complete.

    Any advice would be appreciated.

    Thanks

    • October 7, 2009 at 10:34 pm

      Jose,

      Hi! How are you? And thanks for the question. Let me start by saying that we, as runners, are tough and sometimes hard headed. I would reccommend that you are cautious.

      A couple questions for you. Is it a very localized pain, ie. not the whole shin, but about and inch of pain area? Does it hurt to apply pressure with your finger. How does it feel after your long runs? Does it hurt during when you get out of bed in the morning?

      How many miles are you running per week?

      It sounds to me like the beginning of a stress fracture. The only thing that will heal a stress fracture is rest. about 6-8 weeks. There are different stages of stress fractures. They start out as “hot spots” and will get worse if untreated and can eventually become a full fledged fracture needing a cast, as I have seen with some of my teammates at U of Michigan.

      I feel that the main reasons stress fractures of the lower leg occur is due to foot and lower leg muscle weakness. Once the muscles become fatigued, especially on long runs they aren’t able to absorb the shock as efficiently as usual so the bone ends up absorbing more shock then it can handle.

      One thing that has helped me get to a point of leg health is strength work, and experimenting with some barefoot running. Another thing is stopping and stretching a couple times during a long run to give my legs a quick break. If I am running for 2.5 hours, stopping to stretch, get water, for 3 minutes a couple times doesn’t hurt the workout, but may save damage on your legs.

      Also ice your pain area for 10-15 minutes 3x/day. Either with a bucket with ice water or with an ice cube right on the shin. This promotes blood flow and healing.

      To be on the safe side, I would treat it as a stress fracture and be cautious. If I were you I would do the long run, as long as there is no pain. But don’t be set on 20. 18 would serve its purpose at this point of training.

      In the coming weeks I would try to get as many full rest days as possible. Example, instead of running 2 days of 4 miles, run 1 of 8 and take the other day off.

      Good Luck in NY and Stay Healthy! If you have any more questions, let me know.

  2. Jose E Sanchez
    October 9, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Thanks for replying to my questions.

    Yes, it is localized, it is located approx 4 inches above my ankle. Yesterday I took the day off and today it is a rest day for me. Yesterday morning it hurt when getting out of bed and would hurt if I pressed on it. Today there was no pain when getting out of bed, but if I press on it there is definetely soreness – I wouldn’t say it is painful, just feels sored. I’ve been icing it after every single run and sometimes I ice it during the day. I also wear Zensah compression leg sleeve when doing the long runs, not sure if that helps…

    My last long run was a 12 miler (last Sunday), a week before that a 20 miler. As I progress into the run the pain eases up to the point that I barely feel it at the end of the long run. When I did the 20 miler I felt really good at the end. The pain is present at the beginning of each run and starts going away after half mile into it. Is that common for a stress fracture?

    At this point I am running between 33 and 45 miles per week, 4 weeks ago I ran a total of 44 miles (included an 18 miler), then the week after that went down to 36, then 42 miles (included a 20 miler), then went down again to 32 miles, and this week is my last hard week with a 20 miler this weekend for a total of 38 (it should have been 43,but I took yesterday off and swam instead).

    then weeks 16, 17 and 18 are:
    5mi, 6mi, 5mi, 4mi, 12mi
    4mi, 5mi, 4mi, 3mi, 8mi
    3mi, 4mi, 2mi, marathon

    I like your suggestions about combining some of the mileage/days. I was also thinking on taking off the last 4 days before the marathon, is that a good idea?

    thanks
    Jose

    • October 9, 2009 at 3:18 pm

      Jack Daniels running expert says that you can take 5 days of complete rest without losing fitness. So, 4 days off will be fine and beneficial.
      I am a big believer in compression shorts and calf sleeves for recovery. I will also wear both in the marathon. I race and train in the shorts and wear the calf sleeves only when going 20+, but they are supposed to aid in endurance in longer runs since they reduce “muscle jiggle” which wastes energy. Even if it is only a 1% improvement, I’ll take it.

      It sounds like you are being smart about your final weeks. Icing is good.

      It is also a good idea during the final weeks to throw in some marathon pace miles. For example, on your 6mi day and 8mi day, throw in a couple miles in the middle at marathon pace, just to get the feel. This will also keep you focused and confident mentally.

      Swimming is a great cross training activity for running as is biking. Low impact won’t make the leg problem any worse and gives it time to heal.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

