Home > Training Log, Uncategorized > Another Chilly Day in NYC, Another Solid Workout

Another Chilly Day in NYC, Another Solid Workout

Total miles on Saturday, 12.  Ran 3 miles on the warm up, then 2×2 miles at tempo with a 2 min rest.  Splits were, 6:24 (uphill), 5:58 downhill, rest, 6:19 uphill, 6:01 downhill.  Felt healthy and fast.  Weight before 188, after 183.  Had a little inner left knee pain for last few days, but hip and foot felt great today.  Ultrasound machine really helping.

Talked with John Shostrom and Scott McCraw about marathon pacing and goals.  They seem to think 3:15 should be a piece of cake for me.  I hope they are right…I think I am ready.  My only concern is, with only 1 marathon under my belt and such a drastic “hit of the wall”, I am cautious rather than cocky.

Running these tempos plus the 1:25 half marathon gives me good confidence.  Speed is not the issue.  Endurance is the issue.  My plan is to be conservative for the first half.  I would be happy to be around 1:35 and try to hold even or maybe run a negative split.

Ended up with 36 miles for the week.  Will drop it down more next week, 28-31 miles with a 3×10 min tempo on Wed or Thurs.  No more weight lifting.

The 10 day weather forecast still only goes up to Monday October 26, and says that day will be Sunny Hi 57, Lo 46.  I can live with that for the marathon, lets hope that weather holds, even a little cooler would be perfect.

  1. Peter M
    October 18, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    I like your blog, Chad.

    BTW, I’m a big fan of Injinji toe socks, too. Did you see the knee-high compression socks they are coming out with?

    Thanks again for your advice on the Facebook NYRR board.

    Peter

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

