Home > Inspiration, Marathon Tips > NYC Marathon Expo Pics, Goody Bag, ETC

NYC Marathon Expo Pics, Goody Bag, ETC

Just got back from getting my number, shirt and goody bag at Expo.  3 more sleeps!!

NYC Marathon Expo @ Javits Center

NYC Marathon Expo @ Javits Center

Expo Entrance

Expo Entrance--Have your ID ready 🙂

t shirt pickup

T-Shirt Pick up

Expo

Step into the Madness!

attention sign

Ummmm...they are D-Tags, Not chips!

I took the 2,3 train down there from Wall St. (where I work, but not in finance, I work as a Chef) to Penn Station and walked a few avenues down to the Javit Center.  Much warmer than I thought it was outside.  I wore a big jacket and was sweating by the time I got to the expo.  Everything went smooth, showed my ID and printout with bib# info, got an approval stamp.  Then I found the booth that had my bib number Blue 4656.  Took that over to the shirt booth, got an XL (I like em a little baggy) and was given my goody bag.

After that I was all set.  I needed a few thing in the Expo and it wasn’t TOO crowded yet, but getting there quickly.  I wandered around the booths.  Make sure to stop by the NIKE booth and get a free pace band (actually get a couple different time goals), I got 3:10 and 3:15.

I also picked up a waterproof warmup suit for $15.  Pants and Jacket (meant to be tossed). They also had gloves for $3, but I have some old ones to use.

They have a lot of stuff there but I didn’t really see any “deals” or sales.  I can get all that stuff on the internet.  So I saved myself the stress of a crowded expo and left with my sanity 🙂

It really got the adrenaline pumping seeing all the athletes together knowing we would all be gathering hours from now to conquer the streets of NYC.  I’m ready! Are you?

 

Number & Shirt

Number & Shirt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

warm ups

Waterproof warm ups $15

NIKE pace band

Nike Pace Band

  1. October 29, 2009 at 7:02 pm

    Exciting! The shirt looks great. I’m picking up my stuff tomorrow and I want to track down some authors for autographing. But am I ready? Having just run Marine Corps a few days ago, my legs aren’t exactly feeling ready yet.

    • October 29, 2009 at 9:00 pm

      Impressive double!!

  2. Lorraine
    October 29, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Wow seemed like you’re all set! Thought of getting the waterproof warm up in case it rains…hope not! I’ll be picking up mine on Saturday with my friend who’s a first time marathoner.

    Did you stop by at the Asics booth to register to have your name displayed on a WABC Super sign in Times Square?

    Good luck on Sunday!!!

  3. October 29, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    I am so ready! I absolutely love the shirt and thought the packet pick-up process was well organized and painless. Like yourself, I made my exodus from the expo quite early, but not soon enough to save me from splurging at the Asics super-booth. They get me every time. Good luck, it is going to be a GREAT day!

  4. Kevin Leathers
    October 29, 2009 at 9:46 pm

    Chad
    Can’t wait to hit the Expo on Friday! I suggest you throw away the 3:15 pace band. Weather looks good for 26.2 Go for it! Best of luck on Sunday!

  5. CC
    October 30, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Did you get a Marathon Eve Pasta Party ticket in your goody bag? It’s not FREE for runners this year????

    • October 30, 2009 at 10:57 am

      Nope, no Pasta Party ticket. I didn’t know it used to be FREE. There are lots of cheap restaurants around the expo area. I saw one that had a sign of $6 for pasta dishes.

  6. October 31, 2009 at 8:47 am

    Yeap. Ready! Good luck to you tomorrow!

    • October 31, 2009 at 9:21 am

      Get ready to Rock this Course…Perfect weather brewing (don’t go out to fast!!!)

  1. October 30, 2009 at 10:04 am

Leave a Reply

