Home > Recovery, Training Log > Whew! I’m Officially In Boston

Whew! I’m Officially In Boston

I was actually worried for 24 hours!  I kinda thought it was automatic.  If you run the time and register, you’re in.  I registered on Nov 2nd, the day after running a qualifying time of 3:15:53 at NYC.  And being the excited kid at heart that I am, I checked the Entry List on the Boston site everyday to see if my name was there yet.

So, Nov 16th comes and I see a Facebook post from a running friend that says he just got his email confirmation for Boston. What?!  I don’t have mine yet.

I go to the Boston site and check again…nothing, just a Melissa Tibbetts, who is not related, but seems to be taunting me.  I start checking other friends from my running club that I know qualified and registered. Nate…he’s in, Steve…he’s in…Elias…he’s in….C’mon!!  Is my time not fast enough?!  I know I registered before them, so I didn’t miss the registration cut off, and all those guys ran NYC.  OK, let me check the “fine print” maybe they take fast guys first, and if it fills up, sorry Charlie.

“The B.A.A. reserves the right to reject any entry, issue special invitations, cancel the race, expand or further limit the field, or adjust the entry procedures.”

Oh GREAT!  They might reject me!?  I immediately send an email, stating my time and my registration confirmation number.  To make matters worse I read another post on Facebook from a guy who also qualified and hasn’t received an email confirmation yet.

Tuesday Nov. 17th 3:45pm

email received…

Dear Chad W. Tibbetts,

This is to notify you that your entry into the 114th Boston Marathon on Monday, April 19, 2010 has been accepted, provided that the information you submitted is accurate.”

YES!!  (heart racing…smile beaming…relief…excitement…nervous)

Now I actually have to run it!

I was so worried about NOT getting in, I had decided on running the Flying Pig marathon in Cincinnati instead and crushing the qualify time to show those Boston people what’s up. 🙂

But I’m in. Let the training begin!

Tuesday Ran 4 miles easy, then later in day did 6×400 at 5k pace, with 2 1/2 minutes standing rest.  Felt good. Ran smooth, comfortable. Ran 87-90 seconds per.

Wednesday 5 miles easy recovery run

Thursday plan is 3x1mi at 10k pace about 6 min/mile with 3-5 min jogging rest.

This is from the Hal Higdon Advanced Marathon Recovery Plan Week 2

Also, got my official Brightroom Photo CD.  Will Post Pics soon

Next Race will be in 2 1/2 weeks, Dec 6th.  Joe Kleinerman 10K

Goal is 37:31 which is 56 VDOT (6:02 pace) on the Jack Daniel Chart and equivalent to a 2:53:20 marathon, and 1:23 1/2 marathon.  Most recent best 10k time is 37:50 in May 08 at the Healthy Kidney.

I think it is very do-able.  And I’m excited to have a race to look forward to again.

  1. November 18, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    1. Congrats.
    2. Just curious, why Flying Pig? I was tardy in applying to Boston and now I’m on the hunt for a replacement race ( http://myrunshorts.com/2009/11/15/watching-the-wheels-go-round/ ) …

    • November 18, 2009 at 6:50 pm

      Thanks. I was looking for a marathon around that time. Flying Pig is May 2nd. It got pretty good reviews on marathonguide.com and it seemed fast. One big hill at mile 8 then downhill the rest of the way.
      It’s also small, which I want to try, since my only experience has been in mammoth NYC.

      http://www.marathonguide.com/races/racedetails.cfm?MIDD=508100502

      • November 18, 2009 at 6:56 pm

        Thanks! I like the early date but I was worried it was too hilly for a PB. I admit, I’m tempted to run it based on the name alone.

        NYC is a great dress rehearsal for Boston – the buses, the long wait in the athletes village, the huge crowds. It’s my favourite marathon to date.

  2. Dad
    November 22, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Hey congratulations, that had to be frustrating waiting for the “official word” that you qualified. Keep working on form running and your back muscles so when you are tired you will be efficient in your stride.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

