Home > Triathlon Training > Swimming Laps

Swimming Laps

Since I signed up for my first ever triathlon, I figured I better see if I can still swim 🙂  And since my gym doesn’t have a pool I needed to investigate and find a pool to use.  The triathlon is a very short indoor tri.  10 minute swim, 30 min bike, 20 min treadmill.  I googled “indoor pools in nyc” and came across the Sports Center at Chelsea Pier, which I’ve heard of before, but never been inside.  I filled out the form online and received a call from a rep there.  I scheduled a trial day for today at 2pm.

I went to the gym after running an moderate 6 miles outside in the morning.  I think it would be fair to say that it would be warmer on the moon than it was in Brooklyn today.  Wow!  SO Cold and super windy, gusting up to 40mph.  I was happy to get the run in, like one of the guys in our group said, it’s the kind of weather that makes you tougher at mile 19.

I came back home had  breakfast and got ready to head out to the Chelsea Pier Gym.  It’s an awesome place, but really far from my apartment.  It took me a solid hour to get there.  I can’t see myself making that trip very often, there are some YMCA pools closer, but obviously not as nice.

Chelsea Pier Pool

Well the swim was tough, to say the least.  I think my fellow blogger sums it up best here…

“I started off in a 25 meter pool, beginning with with the modest goal of six laps of the pool (150 metres). On the first day, I thought my lungs would explode after doing the first 25 meters, gasping, eyes bulging and wondering what the hell I was doing in this environment unsuitable for humans.”

That’s about right 🙂  I wanted to swim for 10 minutes just to get a feel of how long that was for the tri.  It’s long!  I had to take a breather every 2 laps.  It was a weird kind of tired.  Nothing was fatigued muscularly, but I couldn’t catch my breath.  My pulse wasn’t even that high, only about 120.  I did 12 laps comfortably with much rest.  I did a couple “quick” ones at the end and was around 22 seconds.  I don’t think my form is very good.  Maybe I’ll take a triathlon class and get some tips.  It was fun and definitely a challenge, much respect for swimmers.

Then I went to check out the track.  Pretty nice.  A full 4oo meter track with a mini 200 meter banked loop inside of the big track.  I ran a mile.  The track is only 3 lanes most of the way, so its a little tight if there are other people on it.  Great view of the river from the pool and the track.

After the track I realized they had a spin bike and that is what I need to ride in the tri.  Usually at the gym I ride the “regular” exercise bike, they are very different.

I rode it for 30 minutes and managed to get to 16.6 miles.  I feel like that’s decent.  The resistance was light, set at “gear 8” for most of the ride, but I don’t think resistance is a factor at the indoor tri, just total RPMs.

Then I jumped back on the track for 800m just to see how my legs would feel running after that effort.  Pretty heavy, but they loosened up after 400m.  I’ll try to get back in a pool one more time.  But if I don’t, no biggie.  I know now that I won’t drown 🙂

Happy new year everyone.  Let’s set some ambitious goals and go get em!!

  1. newtriathlete
    January 4, 2010 at 12:24 am

    Good luck. I started training for sprint triathlon in September. I am also blogging about my experience. I think that you will find it helpful and motivating to write about your journey. I might suggest that you find a training group. Check out http://www.meetup.com. I did about 2 months into my training and it has helped a lot. I also benefited from Eric Harr’s book – Training for triathlon in 4 hours a week. Great training plan and diet. Anyway – good luck – I look forward to reading about your progress. My blog is http://www.newtriathlete.wordpress.com

    Good luck and enjoy the ride!

  2. Dad
    January 4, 2010 at 1:00 am

    Hi Chad, great story. Swimming is definitely a different type of exercise for us. We have a muscle density where we tend to just sink down. Having someone help you with your stroke will be a big help, regardless if it is before the race or not. Swimming is a great cross-training exercise so it would be good to feel so comfortable that you can get into the “zone” while swimming, like you do with your running.

  3. Jeff
    January 7, 2010 at 2:45 pm

    hey chad. I did nyc marathon this year and followed you Blog. Congrat’s on BQ…and good luck. In regards to your tri training…I am purely a rookie…finished and oly and sprint. I implore you to take the swimming quite seriously. Make sure your first open water swim is not in the triathlon. my first tri…250 yards swim…I barely made it and could easily swim 1 hour in the pool. Good luck!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

