Home > Dealing With Injury, Training Log > Cold Weather, Bursitis, Rolfing, New Shoes

Cold Weather, Bursitis, Rolfing, New Shoes

(written 1/5/10 Tuesday…forgot to click “publish”)

It is SO cold, and has been for about 10 days now.  It is the longest extended cold spell in the last 20+ years, and it is making starting Boston training tough.  I could only tough out 60 minutes this Sunday.  Not only was it 5 degrees with the windchill but it was also 5 degrees with the windchill (isn’t that enough).  I know its colder in Minnesota and North Dakota and I’m glad I’m not there, but I would still like to vent about MY frozen face.  To be honest, I can handle cold, I was born and raised in Michigan.  That doesn’t mean I like it 🙂  And the wind just cuts through you and makes it very hard to get into a groove.  I think the key is layers and covering all exposed skin.  OK, enough complaining already…

I went to Michigan during Christmas.  Had fun, ran very little.  Forgot my running shoes in Michigan.  Oops.  My mom will send them to me, but in the meantime I needed to get a new pair.  I didn’t love the Brooks Adrenaline, they rubbed my heal strangely and were not comfortable around my ankle on long runs.  So I explored my options on the internet and did a little research.  I have been running in orthotics and would prefer not to if possible, so I looked for a stability shoe that is build for overpronation, (which I do).  I found several highly rated ones like Nike Equalon, a couple Mizuno shoes looked interesting, but what caught my eye was the Asics GT-2150

Asics GT-2150

I’ve run in them a handful of times already and so far so good.  In fact my shin and foot pain has subsided so much that today my 5 mile run was pain free with no taping and no orthotics.

That leads me to my other point in the title…rolfing.  I had my 3rd session last night and the focus was reorganizing my side line.  Most of the work was focused on shoulder, upper torso, and hip/glutes.  I could see more now why it is not reccomended to stop the rolfing progression before the 10 sessions are done.  Each session builds on the last.

It’s funny.  It’s hard to put my finger on what is different after each session, mainly because it is subtle.  But I can tell you that being an athlete my whole life, I am very in tune with my body and regularly inventory every nick, pain, and imperfection of health going on with my body.  I have been running very well since starting rolfing, very comfortable at a good pace.  Although, sometimes after a rolfing session I have noticed new pains or odd muscle fatigue.  I am thinking that is due to a slight shift in posture and stance forcing me to use different muscles more.  I do know that I feel better lately and walk taller, AND feel like I’m generating more power while running more efficiently.  A good analogy I thought of while studying tips for my upcoming indoor triathlon is this…adjusting your bike seat.  There are many variables with the bike seat, height, tilt, and position it sits from the handle bars.  The perfect position is different for everyone, but when you find it you will have the best balance, power, and efficiency.

My knee bursitis is significantly better.  I took a very light running week last week, logging only 13 miles, but over 2 hours cross training on various machines.  The swelling and lump have stopped, although the knee still feels a little “loose” which is common after swelling subsides, but just in case I am doing some knee rehab exercises to strengthen it.  Still taking it easy and listening to my body.

  1. Dad
    January 8, 2010 at 4:34 pm

    (Got tired of the spider symbol of me, hopes this works). I’ve been wearing Asics Gel 2140’s for a number of years now. They have changed slightly over the years (for the better). I think they provide support with a more neutral landing. You’re little bro wears Asics 1140’s, he still has good feet because he’s eleven. I hope your tri training is going well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

