Home > Training Log > Eating For Your Blood Type

Eating For Your Blood Type

I’ve read many comments about the “Eating for you blood type diet”  and some people think it is the greatest thing since sliced bread and some people think it is “snake oil”.  Well, it’s most likely somewhere inbetween.

I have decided to give it a try.  First I needed to figure out what my blood type is.  I knew at one time, but forgot.  So just to make sure, I looked online for a way to find out what it is.  Sure enough they have a do it yourself kit, sold of course by the author of the book “Eat Right for Your Blood Type”

DIY Test kit

Here is what the contents looked like…

It was a fairly simple process to do, except for the fact that I used the single use needle on a piece of paper instead of my finger.  Curiousity got the best of me.  I wanted to see the size of the needle, and didn’t read the instructions far enough to see it was single use.  Oops.  So I had to take apart the needle contraption and prick my finger manually.

In the end, I re-discovered that I was A+.  I donated blood once when I was in college and they told me what type I was, but I forgot.  Here is what a card looks like after doing the test…

A+

Evolution of Blood Types

Back in the early days of man, there were only blood type O people. This means the surface of the red blood cells had neither A nor B antigens on it. This has carried down until today, when the vast majority of people are still type O.

Around 20,000BC, a mutation occurred, and some people began to be Blood Type A. These people developed an A membrane or antigen on the surface of their blood cells. This blood type became common in central Europe as well as Scandanavia. Many feel this change occurred when farming became common in those areas.

The next change was around 10,000BC. This is when some people developed a Type B membrane on their blood cells. This change took place in Asia and Japan, and biologists are not sure what encouraged this change to take place.

It was not until around the 1500s that the A groups and B groups began to mix as travel became more and more common. This formed the AB blood type, which is most common now in northern India, even though it is still the rarest of the four main blood types. Only 5% of US residents are blood type AB.

Since the different blood types really only matter when you have a blood transfusion, it is only in the past few hundred years that having different types of blood mattered at all – and it was only in 1909 that doctors finally figured out what caused some blood transfusions to work and others to fail!

The next step in my plan was to figure out what foods and beverages I should and should not be eating according to A+ blood type chart.

First off, the recommendation is no meat.  I should be a vegetarian, actually pescatarian, since seafood is good for A+.  I tried being a pescatarian several years ago, but it was more work than I was ready for at that time in my life.  Now since I have access to the Brooklyn Food Coop it is much more likely to succeed.  The coop is full of stuff made for vegetarians AND they are very reasonably priced.  So I have been doing the vegetarian thing for about a week now (I did eat chicken once).

Apparently your blood type can say a lot about you, not only what you should eat, but also your personality, how you react to stress, and other things.  In Japan and Korea it is not uncommon to give your blood type during a job interview or on a date.  This is however much skepticism in the scientific world about this theory.

There is little to no scientific proof that the diet works like it is supposed to or that blood influences personality and here is a good counter article breaking down the reason why.  I plan to keep and open mind and take this diet with a grain of salt (pun intended 🙂 ) but so far I feel good with much less stomach irritation than usual, in only 1 week.  There has been no marked weight loss though, probably more due to my lack of exercise while nursing my knee problem.

By the way, I will be getting an MRI on my knee to see whats going on inside on Tuesday.  I’ll keep you posted on the results.

Here is a chart from Dr. Lam about the good foods and foods to avoid for the A+ diet

  1. Ian Spohn
    July 23, 2010 at 9:46 pm

    Good luck with the diet. I recently found out I was type O positive, and I decided to try the recommended high meat/low grain diet. I found that even though I was eating dramatically fewer carbs, I had just as much energy when I ran. Also, I used to get bowel trouble whenever I ran more than six miles or so. I think I took 5 bathroom breaks when I ran my first marathon! But since I stopped loading up on the bagels and pasta (wheat products), it’s gone away entirely.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

