Feeling Old…

Really old. Maybe it’s because I slipped out of shape over the last 9 months. I guess ever since the NYC marathon, I was pretty whipped and after taking time off, my knee got messed up with the meniscus tear. Since then I’ve been just doing enough to not get out of shape, but wouldn’t say my current fitness level is anything to write home about. I’m actually surprised at how well I can still compete in the races and duathlons I’ve been in this year. Holding steady as far as past times have gone, but for some reason, I want more. I’m a competitor, an over-achiever since birth. I have learned to be happy with my accomplishment, but without fail, in the back of my mind, I know I could have done better with more training, better eating, more sleep, etc, etc.

The most frustrating part of the whole process is that when I get the motivation to step it up, I seem to have some setback. Whether its the knee, or stress fracture, or achilles, it seems there is something that prevents me from going full on into training, for running anyway. I have and will continue to step up the cycling and swimming. Biked 18miles on Monday and today swam 15 min in the morning and ran 5 mi in the evening. Achilles didn’t feel great on the run, but after icing, felt fine.

Triathlon is on Sunday. It’s a sprint, 400 meter swim, 13 mile bike, 5k run. The swim is in a 50m pool that we will “snake” through all 8 lanes. Should be interesting.

It is definitely a humbling experience to compete when not fully in the best condition. But I will say that I live to compete and couldn’t imagine not. It always boggles my mind when teammates say that “they aren’t racing because they aren’t in racing shape”, mind you they are saying this while being easily one of the 3 or 4 fastest guys on the team. Sometimes you have to race yourself into shape. I understand that feeling after completing a sub-par race and knowing that you got beat by people that you should beat, have beaten, and will beat in the future. But sometimes you have to put pride aside and put yourself out there. For the good of the team, and for the future motivation that racing provides. Even when you are in amazing shape, you aren’t guaranteed an amazing race. Everything has to line up on that given day. Weather, energy, race course, competition, race plan, all that. I’m not saying race every weekend to go for the “perfect” race, that would cause burnout. I am saying race more often than a few times a year. Vary the distances. Vary the goals. Have fun.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

